The cochrane ecological Institutes

Current Interns

Here are the bios of our current interns, long-stay volunteers, and practicum students of 2022!

Valentine Huang

My name is Valentine, and I am 24. I am from Montpellier, France. At the age of 15 my family and I moved to Montpellier, and I've spent my entire life surrounded by animals. I just recently received my private law degree, and I am currently in a gap year. I chose to volunteer at CEI because I've always wanted to offer my help, especially in the animal cause. I already have experience in wildlife volunteering. I was part of a association that works to help cats mostly.  I will be staying at CEI for about a month.

My missions are as follows:
-Feed and care for the animals
-Keeping enclosures clean
-Assisting with wildlife research
-Maintaining notes on injured animals or orphaned wildlife

Valentin Célérier

My name is Valentin Célérier, I am 23 and I am from the Paris suburbs. I am studying at the University of Agronomy Agrocampus Ouest in Rennes, France, an institution of higher learning which trains students in Agronomic and Life Science. I am currently doing a gap year as well as a 4-month internship at CEI, where I participate in kennel and wildlife care; as well as help carry out research on wildlife monitoring with drones. I have chosen this internship because I want to preserve nature by saving animals and improving our knowledge of the local species.

Judith    Jonkers

My name is Judith Jonkers and I am a 19 year old student from the Netherlands. I am studying Animal Management at Leeuwarden University in the Netherlands. I'm going to be at CEI for 5 months for an internship for my studies. I grew up in Asia and like travelling a lot! I grew up with dogs and cats around me all the time and love to watch and be around animals. I wanted to intern at CEI because it would give me the opportunity to learn about and care for new species in a country that I have always wanted to visit. I hope to learn a lot about rehabilitation and research in the wildlife field. 

Fisher Stephenson

My name is Fisher Stephenson, and I am a 19 year old student living in Cochrane. I am in my 2nd year of the Ecotourism and and Outdoor Leadership program at Mount Royal University, and I am interning at CEI for one of my practicums. I love animals and live my life with a strong calling to conservation and the protection of natural areas and native animals.